Tags

, , , , ,

Check out this Kick Starter – Glitter & Mayhem: The Speculative Nightclub Anthology edited by Lynne M. Thomas, Michael Damian Thomas, and John Klima. Funding ends February 16th. They’ve already reached over 50% of their goal, which means that they are now open to submissions for the anthology, so send them your fabulous work (and consider supporting them, too). Writers with work already in the anthology: Alan DeNiro, Amal El-Mohtar, Daryl Gregory, Damien Walters Grintalis, Maria Dahvana Headley, Kat Howard, Seanan McGuire, Jennifer Pelland, Tim Pratt, Cat Rambo, Tansy Rayner Roberts, Diana Rowland, Sofia Samatar, David J. Schwartz, and William Shunn.

ImageImage

What have I been up to? I’ve been writing and editing short stories for my applications to numerous writers’ conferences: Clarion, Clarion West, Odyssey, and Bread Loaf.

Argh! I started a new short story that sparkled so cheerily and a little eerily in my mind. The part I saw did, anyway. Finding the rest of the story that I wasn’t seeing (and still am not) is another matter. Perhaps the word and page restrictions (set by the conferences for the manuscripts) are adding to my uncertainty of where this story is going. Though another piece I edited the hell out of started out being too long but as I worked and winnowed and cut and added and refined, it came to within the length limitations and was a stronger piece for it.

ImageImageWow, what news: Margo Lanagan is now one of the instructors at Clarion West this year! Oh my goodness! It was a breath-taking line up anyway, and now one of my favorite writers (as in one whose stories flow through me as I read and whisk me along, as in one of the writers whose work makes me wish I could write better and gives me the hope to keep trying) is going to be there, too.

And I can’t seem to finish this story! ARGH! Oh, it is like a little puzzle where some of the scene is visible, some is hidden, there are shapes and pieces that must exist but I have to find them but I’m not even sure what they look like….. oh, little puzzle pieces, come forth and show yourselves. Please. Now.
Image

Discovering a story while writing it is like dancing. Not an efficient movement to get from point A to point B, but if you don’t know where point B is, it’s a bit difficult to get thereImage Imageefficiently, isn’t it? We don’t dance to traverse distance as much as when dancing one also traverses distance. And when learning one inevitably stumbles and steps on ones dance partner’s feet. I guess writing is perhaps a bit less physically painful. Perhaps.

Lewis Carroll

“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”
“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to.”
“I don’t much care where –”
“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go.”
Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland 

